When Should You Toss Your Makeup- Spring Clean Your Makeup Stash

It’s no secret that makeup expires, when the manufacturer tells you that it is time to stop using a product, you should probably stop using it. But, more often than not, you find that you’ve had something sitting in your drawers for what feels like years. I’ll be the first to admit that I am a makeup hoarder. But, I’m making it a goal to keep my makeup stash under control and using up a whole product before buying a new one (yeah right, but a girl can dream) Here is when you should toss your beloved products (and buy new ones).

DSC00817.jpgDSC00819.jpg

Every product you own has an expiration date. Some have a little tub has a number of months you can safely use a product until it should be tossed others (like tarte products) have an actual expiration date. I think it goes without saying that if a product changes texture or scent, it should be thrown out. But, as I was looking at my different products, looking for the little tub, I realized that not all of my products had the expiration date on them and I had already thrown out all of the packages, so I decided to put a little list together to help you figure out which products should go.

Of course, each company uses different ingredients making them last for a different amount of time, but in my research (online, as well as, reading the bottles of all of my products) this is the average amount of time you should have a product:

toss it list

Chances are, you’re going to run out of these products before it expires. But, if your products look, feel, or smell different it’s time to part with them. But, nonetheless, it’s better to be safe than sorry when it comes to what you are putting on your skin. Plus, when you get rid of one, its an excuse to go shopping for more! Let me know what some of your favorites are!

2 thoughts on “When Should You Toss Your Makeup- Spring Clean Your Makeup Stash

Leave a Reply

